Review score: 64%

Review Date: September 2012
Reviewer: Tali
Source: Rock Hard Reviews

Amazon UK: Buy CD | Buy MP3 / Amazon US: Buy CD | Buy MP3

One happy birthday many years ago I got this album along with Origin of Symmetry. Origin of Symmetry was a disappointment, but this one I keep listening to. Muse is definitely on form with this album. There’s a good mixture of songs and styles. Their lyrics tend to be complacent, but it doesn’t take away from the songs

At some point while putting the album together Muse seemed to delude themselves into thinking they were putting on a live performance or something, so the album comes with an introduction, interlude, and a bit of a dull thing for the end. I wouldn’t mind, but it’s a waste of three tracks that could have been more songs. Of course, they don’t have to make it onto your playlist. Or, if playing the album on a loop, they’re easy to miss and not too long.

So, the songs:

Time is running out

I’m sure most people have heard this one. It’s one of those songs that never quite disappeared from the music channels. Since the video is very fun I don’t think the music is the sole reason it’s replayed. Robot military people march around in circles. Just another example of how strange they can be. Watching this video a few weeks ago I realised that the singer has to close his eyes before he can make any sound. I’m surprised he doesn’t fall off the table, but then, they would have just cut that bit, right? This song also stands out on the album with grungier guitars and more of a beat. It’s easy to sing along to, and might even make you want to dance.

Butterflies and Hurricanes

They’re right back to singing about the end of the world, okay maybe not the end of the world, but it’s all cause and effect. Butterfly effect. This is a strange one. It begins with the illusion of building up to something, and then, about three quarters of the way through, it breaks down to an angry piano, obviously not too happy about the other instruments getting all the attention. It’s soft and good listening to chill out.

Small Print

This one has a bit more to it. It’s got a beat from the start and not much space for warbling. It’s energetic and will wake you up before that horrible meeting you have tomorrow morning (Oh, sorry, you wanted to sleep through that meeting?).

The Album Art

Strange. That’s the only word for the silhouettes of people flying that go across the front of the album. I’ve had to study post-modernism in the past and I still don’t get this cover.


The album starts “This is the end of the world” and that sets the tone pretty well. Overall, the songs are good, but they don’t pop out of playlists. Muse makes good music for work, but (with the exception of Time is Running Out) this wouldn’t help you out at the Gym. Good for writing, drawing and indulging in hobbies (There’s a band name joke in there somewhere) and easy to sing to. Glad I bought it.

Buy Now! Amazon UK: Buy CD | Buy MP3 / Amazon US: Buy CD | Buy MP3

Track List (may vary)

  • Intro
  • Apocalypse Please
  • Time is Running Out
  • Sing for Absolution
  • Stockholm Syndrome
  • Falling Away with You
  • Interlude
  • Hysteria
  • Blackout
  • Butterflies and Hurricanes
  • The Small Print
  • Endlessly
  • Thought of a Dying Atheist
  • Rules By Secrecy.