Guitar madness and other nice songs

Roger Pedersen

Review Date: May 2016
Reviewer: Paul Jack
Source: Rock Hard Reviews

Amazon UK: Buy MP3 / Amazon US: Buy MP3

May 2016 saw the third solo album release from Norwegian guitar virtuoso Roger Pedersen. Entitled ' Guitar madness and other nice songs', this is a collection of electric and acoustic guitar wizardry. If there is one problem with Roger Pedersen's guitar playing, it is that he is just so darn good!

Every track in this mostly instrumental collection seems to provide Roger with an opportunity to make those six strings sing, harmonise, squeal with pleasure or sigh with satisfaction. You can spot it right from the opener. Classic Maniac is a speedy, and pleasingly retro number which would not seem out of place on an eighties Helloween album, apart from the fact that Roger's nimble fingers seem able to fit in an extra two or three notes in whenever a microsecond of opportunity presents itself.

To hear the man shredding his way through Sweep Sheep leaves no doubt that Roger can play seriously well. If this guy were to join Dragonforce, the music would be blindingly spectacular. He's that good. Better even? Tune in to The Swarm, for example, and you will hear the magic at play. Roger dazzles us with his complex barrage of notes in Bazinga, and entertains with the elusively familiar Twig light Zone. Whereas Tribute is simply stellar.

For variety, check out some of the five acoustic numbers. Leftovers is pitch perfect and flawless, while Snacks and Just Over Those Hills showcase spectacular, leet fretwork skillz. Roger is so talented, it is crazy!

The album closes with a commercial number, Save Me From Myself featuring Johannes Stole on vocals. Gentle vocal harmonies will bring a nostalgic tear to the eye of a diehard Queen fan, with a Bryan Adams pop rock riff and chorus. A nice surprise to end Roger Pedersen's third solo outing.

Let's hope we hear more of Roger and his impressive take on progressive metal in the future.

Buy Now! Amazon UK: Buy MP3 / Amazon US: Buy MP3

Track List (may vary)

  • Classic Maniac
  • Sweep Sheep
  • Leftovers
  • Sicko
  • Just over those hills
  • Response to Bullsht
  • Tribute
  • Acoustic Fingerspitzengefuhl
  • The Swarm
  • Snacks
  • Nazinga
  • And a bottle of rum
  • Twightlight Zone
  • Save me from myself