Satellite Head

Victims Of The New Math

Satellite Head

Review Date: August 2016
Reviewer: Paul Jack
Source: Rock Hard Reviews

Amazon UK: Buy MP3 / Amazon US: Buy MP3

They say nostalgia ain't what it used to be. But when you listen to Satellite Head, you realise that ain't necessarily true. Victims of the New Math - an ironical name, they say - are bringing back a slice of late sixties / early seventies style classic rock.

The band is comprised of brothers Thomas and Joseph Young, hailing from Boston and Burbank respectively, and performing as a singer-songwriting team. Victims Of The New Math describe their music as "based on early 70's Stones and Bowie, but with some of the sloppy late period Beatles thrown in". But don't expect an album full of covers, oh no. There's nary a cover in site. Instead, Satellite Head is chock full of new, original music, but in the old style.

All told, the album has a gentle, mellow rock vibe, with melodic songs throughout. This is Victims Of The New Math's second album, the successor to debut release Set Theory... Infinity. Tracks are short and sweet, radio friendly rock in the style of this reviewer's childhood. In fact, I have a fondness for Tom Petty's music, and I detect a clear Tom Petty influence.

The mix of acoustic and electric guitar works well throughout the album, along with a blend of keyboards, synth's and trumpet, the latter being a surprise. Favourite song - I'd have to go for Not Apparent To Me, for that amazing guitar riff, and for conjuring up childhood memories of countless period rock tunes on the radio. Vocals do sound a bit Tom-ish, which is a good thing, and the whole vibe of Not Apparent To Me is just a great chilled out rock song.

You can hear the hint Tom Petty's vocals in You Can Be My Brian Wilson, although this particular number brought to mind Bob Dylan's Knockin On Heavens Door. It just did, ok. There are tracks here for Bowie fans too - check out Satellite Head Part I. It's very catchy. Or if chillaxed ballads are your scene, give Missing You a listen. Reason To Be is more bluesy, and Brand New Day is an uplifting number to open the album, featuring Thomas and Joe in full swing, with kudos to Jackson Young for his trumpet work.

If you're looking for a collection of new, laid back classic rock tunes to relax with, Satellite Head might be just what you are looking for. Especially if, like this reviewer, you are (ahem) of a certain age and grew up listening to this proper classic rock style on the radio a lot!

Buy Now! Amazon UK: Buy MP3 / Amazon US: Buy MP3

Track List (may vary)

  • Brand New Day
  • Not Apparent To Me
  • Satellite Head Part 1
  • Reason To Be
  • I Think I'm In Love
  • You Can Be My Brian Wilson
  • Another Day
  • I Wonder
  • Satellite Head Part 2
  • Missing You